Recipes

The day I discovered the Breakfast Burrito

I must admit, the fist time I had to google the term. Never thought the 2 words breakfast and burrito should be found in the same sentence. It must be an American thing, I thought (I was right). And it is very popular in fast food joints (haven’t stepped foot in McD or BK in years). So the first time I saw it I just brushed it off, but annoyingly enough it kept showing up in my Pinterest searches. So after a lot of eye rolling, I decided to see what it was all about.

In reality it’s just a glorified wrap. A breakfast wrap. And it isn’t even something new either. Invented in the 1970s, and by the ’80s it was already included in the Mc Donald’s menu in America. Must have taken a little longer to become popular in Europe I guess. So how do you prepare a breakfast burrito? For those few of you who, like me only recently found about this, don’t hold your breath. All you have to do is open a wrap and fill it up with whatever you want, preferably breakfasty stuff, and roll it up. Common fillings include: eggs, ham, cheese, onion, bell peppers, bacon, potatoes, sausage, avocado, tomato, spinach, beans, olives, salsa, sour cream, chili flakes….

Today I decided to try it out. A bit heavy for breakfast in my opinion, so I prepared it for lunch. And I must say I wasn’t disappointed. Being a bit of a picky eater myself, the fillings I chose were avocado, scrambled egg, bacon, grated cheddar and some rocket leaves. Method is super easy: I used a multi grain tortilla wrap and spread it open (warm it up in a pan if you like). I made rows of my desired fillings: a few rocket leaves, freshly grated cheddar, 2 slices of bacon cooked in the microwave, half a mashed avocado. Then I scrambled the egg, added it to the rest, seasoned with freshly ground pepper, and carefully rolled it up. I only managed to take a couple of photos with my mobile because honestly my mouth was watering as I took them.

So is it worth all the fuss and does it deserve the hundreds of online posts which have turned this breakfast diva into an art form? Definitely. I must admit it’s a great invention. Did they have to call it a breakfast burrito? Not really. But actually the ingredients seem to taste much better when rolled up altogether inside a tortilla wrap. Especially if, like me you are one of those people who like to load a sample of each food onto the fork to create the perfect bite. Well, here’s your solution: The breakfast burrito. Easy and quick to prepare, extremely satisfying and will keep you full for hours. Perfect to cure a hangover. Can be eaten instantly or if you can resist, refrigerate for later and warm in a toaster.

If you’ve never tried it out, put it on your To-do list because the breakfast burrito will not disappoint you!

1 thought on “The day I discovered the Breakfast Burrito”

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.